Writers on Craft: Jane Hirshfield

Writers on Craft
program date: 
Wed, 11/02/2011


Writers on Craft: Jane Hirshfield

Suzanne LaGrande interviews award-winning poet and translator Jane Hirshfield.  Ms. Hirshfield is the author of seven collections of poetry, including After (HarperCollins, 2006); Given Sugar, Given Salt (2001), which was a finalist for the National Book Critics Circle Award, The Lives of the Heart (1997), The October Palace (1994), Of Gravity & Angels (1988), and Alaya (1982). In 2004, Hirshfield was awarded the 70th Academy Fellowship for distinguished poetic achievement by The Academy of American Poets.

Her most recent collection of poetry, entitled Come, Thief (Alfred A. Knopf, 2011), was just published this fall. 

In this interview, Suzanne LaGrande talks to Ms. Hirshfield about the process of writing poetry and what she knows now about writing she didn't know when she first started.


Copyright © 2012 KBOO Community Radio | Copyright Policy | Community Guidelines | Website Illustration & Design by: KMF ILLUSTRATION